thumb_1411343012-DSC_0283__640x209_.jpg
thumb_1411061614-1.JPG
thumb_1410635072-MVP_61bsmallerfilesize.jpg
Current Quote
"The tongue like a sharp knife... Kills without drawing blood."
~ Buddha
248 Online Now
37 viewable users (
    ) and 0 hidden plus 211 guests are online now.
     Page 1 of 13 1234>» Last
    Username Post: Burrs, wire edges, Japanese knives        (Topic#827762)
    Dave_Martell
    Master Member KnifeNut!
    07-24-08 09:06.04 - Post#1584910    

Hi everyone,
    Lately I've been asked about the subject of burr removal quite a bit more than any other time in the past. This is a timely coincidence for me due to me own testing that I've been doing. Since many of you have questions I thought I'd share my current thoughts on this issue.

As most know I'm a professional knife sharpener. I've done a lot of sharpening of many types of tools using many types of equipment. Over the last 4 years or so I've been trying to reduce my dependency for powered tools when sharpening Japanese knives. Admittedly this hasn't been easy (for several reason) mostly due to the demand on me to make repairs. In the process of my work I've sharpened A LOT of Japanese knives, many more than I thought existed. I've learned an incredible amount by keeping my mind open and paying attention to details, and challenging everything I believe in and what others say. With all this I've been able to make some solid conclusions but made many more questions in other regards. For me, the issue at hand is to not just take an edge to the ultimate level of sharpness it is to also make it as strong as can be. These two ideals never seem to meet without an extensive amount of work and I'll explain this is a minute. I hope that you get the idea of what I'm trying to accomplish when I sit down with the stones - it's a super sharp, yet super tough, edge I desire.

OK, now that's out of the way, I'll start by talking about what I've found and how I deal with it.